EnvisaLink setup question

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

garyn
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:49 am

EnvisaLink setup question

Postby garyn » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:28 am

Hi!

I installed the EnvisaLink today attached to a DSC 1864 panel. The panel's version is 4.23 (older, hopefully I can upgrade this soon).

The EnvisaLink board is remote from the 1864 box and the board is located next to my home router. The alarm now sees a PC5400 device attached. I can see a local alarm status overview from Envisalink using a WEB browser and I have 4/5 green lights. I cannot telnet (or putty) to port 4025 as the EnvisaLink seems to close the connection shortly after telnet attaches. The EnvisaLink board is on a network port that is only reachable by VPN (or by other boxes on its local LAN, of course) and it has no access to internet.

I'll apologize in advance as I was not able to reach/read the manual at the recommended link (http://www.eyezon.com/?page_id=469) - it just takes me to the home page.

My question: why does the EnvisaLink need to talk to a server? It -seems- like this card would perform a standalone service of displaying the local keyboard 'chatter' just by being present on the keyboard bus? Is the server connection needed once to enable the device or will it need continual access?

Observation: each of my keypads will now periodically "tune out" (go blank, system unavailable) which is slightly disconcerting, but the system still seems to function correctly when the pad is in "tuned in" mode. I'm hoping this is something that can be adjusted, or that it is due to old firmware in the 1864, or that there is a EnvisaLink device work-around.

Thank you!!!

Gary

GrandWizard
Posts: 1884
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: EnvisaLink setup question

Postby GrandWizard » Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:07 am

Hi, the link to the primer is below, I'm not sure what the link you quoted should/would do.

http://www.eyezon.com/primer.php

You need the free Eyezon cloud service for Envisalerts, remote control with the Eyezon app, Amazon Alexa, and Envisalarms (Pro Monitoring). You can use the Envisalink without the service but it doesn't do much. There are three local services on the module that you can use without the service: a rudimentary web server, TPI (API) port for home automation developers, and the Syslog client.

garyn
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:49 am

Re: EnvisaLink setup question

Postby garyn » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:22 pm

Hi GrandWizard!

In my current configuration, ie without the EnvisaLink module having access to the internet, should I be able to telnet to port 4025 and watch output from the module? It's not letting me connect at the moment. Are there board settings/jumpers that I need to adjust first?

The manual that I was trying to find is referenced in the "READ THIS BEFORE YOU POST" (July 30, 2014) and included in the message is a link to http://www.eyezon.com/?page_id=469

Thank you!

Gary

GrandWizard
Posts: 1884
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: EnvisaLink setup question

Postby GrandWizard » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:35 pm

The TPI isn't a Telnet port and the output of the TPI isn't human readable. It is meant for home automation systems. See the TPI documentation on this forum.

I will update the "read before you post" entry as it is obviously very old. Thanks for pointing this out.

garyn
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:49 am

Re: EnvisaLink setup question

Postby garyn » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:01 pm

Thanks GrandWizard!

Here is a link from Jan 2017 where an EnvisaLink user is accessing port 4025: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2Xs0WWKl1Q

I use the device's correct IP address, but I am not able to successfully connect. I do not get prompted for username/password and the unit just disconnects. His output is not human readable, but it does show understandable events on his local alarm system.

Thanks again!!!!

Gary

GrandWizard
Posts: 1884
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: EnvisaLink setup question

Postby GrandWizard » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:26 pm

That customer has a Honeywell panel. The TPI for DSC and Honeywell are not at all similar. Please read the documentation on the TPI on this forum first before posting any questions. Also, Eyezon cannot support the TPI as it is for developers only. You need to contact your Envisacor representative for more help with the TPI beyond what is posted on this forum.


Return to “EnvisaLink ( IP100D, IP170D, 2DS, 3, 4)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests