DSC PC 1864 new Envisalink 4

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: GrandWizard, EyezOnRich

Devoir
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:50 pm

DSC PC 1864 new Envisalink 4

Postby Devoir » Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:54 pm

I just installed a new panel DSC PC 1864 . I have wired the unit to the circuit board however I can't seem to get it to see all 32 zones.

I have set a static IP address and registered the MAC address. I can open a web page to the unit.

Is there a code (xxx) I need to enable in the PC1864 to get the unit to see the zones? or simply wiring it up works?


Devoir

GrandWizard
Posts: 1992
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: DSC PC 1864 new Envisalink 4

Postby GrandWizard » Mon Sep 28, 2020 10:17 am

You need to label all of your zones as per the user guide. The Envisalink doesn't know what zones you have so will only show the default 8 until you label them.

We also don't recommend making the IP static. It just leads to problems with routing on newer routers. If you need a static IP allocation then use your router's MAC reservation service instead.

brac
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: DSC PC 1864 new Envisalink 4

Postby brac » Fri Oct 16, 2020 9:01 am

Hello GW,

Thanks for your excellent advise overall on these forums. I appreciate it very much. I just saw this post this morning. I have set my IP as static and it has been so for some time. Is there a reason that you recommend NOT setting a static IP? Should I revert back to a MAC reservation on my router?
Thanks,

Paul

GrandWizard
Posts: 1992
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: DSC PC 1864 new Envisalink 4

Postby GrandWizard » Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:11 am

brac wrote:Hello GW,

Thanks for your excellent advise overall on these forums. I appreciate it very much. I just saw this post this morning. I have set my IP as static and it has been so for some time. Is there a reason that you recommend NOT setting a static IP? Should I revert back to a MAC reservation on my router?
Thanks,

Paul


We see this a lot in tech support. Many new routers, all Linux based, have default firewall settings that will not route packets through the gateway if the device don't exist in the DHCP client table. I assume this is stop malicious or compromised devices to fly "under the radar" as you, as the home owner, would never know these devices were on your network.

The built-in static IP option in the Envisalink should only be used in very special circumstances like where there is no DHCP server on the network.

If you want a static IP, always use the router's MAC reservation service. Easier and more secure.


Return to “EnvisaLink ( IP100D, IP170D, 2DS, 3, 4)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests