envisalink causing local area network issues - gone bad?

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

tofuisgarbage
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:36 am

envisalink causing local area network issues - gone bad?

Postby tofuisgarbage » Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:53 am

Hi all,

I've had the envisalink for several years now and it has worked great up until recently. About 1 week ago I had no internet access for my computer and smart tv and when I went to reset my router (which the envisalink is plugged into) I noticed the router had no lights on, so I reset the power to it and it came back. 15 min later the router was powered off again. This kept repeating so I shut everything down temporarily.

In the mix I borrowed a fluke network tester from the network wiring guy at work and tested out all my connections and determined that all the wiring was good so no problems there.

During the testing session I figured out that if I disconnect the envisalink the router would continue to work as expected, within 5 or so min of connecting the envisalink to the network, the router would fail.

I have 2 theories

1. I'm wondering if the envisalink is creating some type of broadcast storm and overloading the router
2. The device has gone bad and needs to be replaced.

Is there a way to reset an envisalink to factory default settings? so I can rule out theory 1? Is there any diagnostic test one can do against the product?

GrandWizard
Posts: 1871
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: envisalink causing local area network issues - gone bad?

Postby GrandWizard » Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:01 am

It wouldn't be your Envisalink. Submit a tech support request from your Eyezon poral and we can look at your telemetry, maybe we can help you out.


Return to “EnvisaLink ( IP100D, IP170D, 2DS, 3, 4)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests