Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

Taz78
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:21 pm

Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby Taz78 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:47 pm

Hello Members,

My EVL3 died on me today (No lights)
My alarm installer from 3 years ago has moved on to newer things so I will need to replace this myself.

Here is what I was thinking :
1) Buy a EVL4
2) Power down my alarm and swap out the EVL3 for EVL4.

Will this work after I activate it in my online account ?
I don't have any experience programming the alarm board but is that needed because I am only swapping and my old programming has not changed ?

Thanks experts !

GrandWizard
Posts: 1835
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby GrandWizard » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:18 pm

Just as an FYI, any long-term customer that is out-of-warranty device can always buy a re-stocked Envisalink 3 for just $60 with a 90 day warranty.

Barring that, yes, if you just replace your Envisalink there will be no new programming required.

Crikey
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 10:04 am

Re: Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby Crikey » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:28 pm

Taz78 wrote:My alarm installer from 3 years ago has moved on to newer things so I will need to replace this myself.

This is why I went to the trouble of leaning how to program my panel myself and did my own repairs/replacements/upgrades. Since my original alarm system was installed 26+ years ago: The original company re-branded itself, then re-branded itself again, then split, then the part that was the re-invented original company went out of business. Meanwhile, the second company I hired to re-do some sensor wiring did as poor a job as the original company.

In the meantime: The monitoring people at one point got into the habit of reporting a failing battery as a smoke/fire detection. After being woken up at o-dark-thirty by them for the third time they finally admitted they didn't know what the code they were getting meant, and assumed "smoke/fire" to be safe.

Oh yeah: And the wireless link one of the re-invented iterations of the original company put in was EOL'd after only a year, because the radios were on the old analog cellular network. This was after them having EOL'd the previous wireless radio to switch to using the cellular network. They expected me to pay the full fare for the new radio. Again.

Those are only the "highlights" of the fun I had with "professional" alarm system companies over the years.

I did a better job than all of them, at a fraction of the cost. EyezOn's system and apps have performed nearly flawlessly, and their monitoring agency has been an utter delight to work with.

Taz78
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:21 pm

Re: Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby Taz78 » Mon Nov 26, 2018 10:19 am

GrandWizard wrote:Just as an FYI, any long-term customer that is out-of-warranty device can always buy a re-stocked Envisalink 3 for just $60 with a 90 day warranty.

Barring that, yes, if you just replace your Envisalink there will be no new programming required.


Yeah , I dod research that option.
I don't mind buying it rebranded but the $25 to $30 "shipping fee" kills the deal.

mvaf
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby mvaf » Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:40 pm

Taz78 wrote:Hello Members,

My EVL3 died on me today (No lights)
My alarm installer from 3 years ago has moved on to newer things so I will need to replace this myself.

Here is what I was thinking :
1) Buy a EVL4
2) Power down my alarm and swap out the EVL3 for EVL4.

Will this work after I activate it in my online account ?
I don't have any experience programming the alarm board but is that needed because I am only swapping and my old programming has not changed ?

Thanks experts !


When installing the new EVL4, and adding the device to the on-line account, will it be necessary to re-enter all the Zone names, etc from scratch? Or is there a way to just have the replacement device adopt all the information from the previous device?

mvaf
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Replacing a faulty EVL3 with a new EVL4

Postby mvaf » Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:43 am

mvaf wrote:
Taz78 wrote:Hello Members,

My EVL3 died on me today (No lights)
My alarm installer from 3 years ago has moved on to newer things so I will need to replace this myself.

Here is what I was thinking :
1) Buy a EVL4
2) Power down my alarm and swap out the EVL3 for EVL4.

Will this work after I activate it in my online account ?
I don't have any experience programming the alarm board but is that needed because I am only swapping and my old programming has not changed ?

Thanks experts !


When installing the new EVL4, and adding the device to the on-line account, will it be necessary to re-enter all the Zone names, etc from scratch? Or is there a way to just have the replacement device adopt all the information from the previous device?


Got my answer from Eyez-On Tech support for those who are interested. Once the new device is installed and BEFORE deleting the old device, you have the option to copy all Zone labels and User names.


Return to “EnvisaLink ( IP100D, IP170D, 2DS, 3, 4)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests