The Envisalink says the Envisalerts Server is 0.0.0.0

Moderators: GrandWizard, EyezOnRich

GrandWizard
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

The Envisalink says the Envisalerts Server is 0.0.0.0

Postby GrandWizard » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:36 am

This means that the Envisalink module could not resolve the IP address of an alerting server from your network's DNS server.

The Envisalink server uses the primary DNS server provided by your DHCP server. This could be your router or other DHCP server on your network. Typcally two servers are provided, a primary and a secondary. Due to software limitations, the Envisalink will only use the primary DNS server.

If the primary DNS server is down, then the Envisalink will never know where the alerting server is and will report an IP address of 0.0.0.0 as the last known server.

Some people ask, "why do all my computers on my network work if my DNS server is down?". Computers will switch to the secondary DNS if the primary DNS is down so you wouldn't even notice if your primary server was down.

To resolve this problem, check with your ISP and verify that your primary and secondary DNS server settings are correct. You can also try swapping the primary and secondary DNS servers in your DHCP settings and try that.

GrandWizard
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: The Envisalink says the Envisalerts Server is 0.0.0.0

Postby GrandWizard » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:10 pm

A few users have found another scenario where the Envisalink cannot find the IP address of the server.

Some routers broadcast their own IP as the DNS server and so the Envisalink will see, for example, 192.168.0.1 as the DNS server. We don't know the exact cause yet but some DNS server daemons (inside the router's firmware) do not communicate properly with the Envisalink so it can never find out the IP address of the server.

There are a couple of workarounds that I know of:

- manually force your DHCP server to use your ISP's DNS servers by entering them into the details for DHCP.

- The Envisalink stores the IP address of the server in its non-volatile memory so it only needs to find this information once, then it will never forget it. Knowing this you could plug the Envisalink directly into your cable/DSL modem and temporarily bypass your router. It should get the IP address within 10 seconds of being powered up. After that you can connect the Envisalink back into your router.

GrandWizard
Posts: 1990
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: The Envisalink says the Envisalerts Server is 0.0.0.0

Postby GrandWizard » Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:15 am

Another user found the opposite scenario to the above. His ISP's DNS server would not communicate with the Envisalink. The solution here was to use a known working DNS server like Google's public DNS.

In your router, under DHCP settings, change the primary DNS to 8.8.8.8, this is Google's public DNS server.

Reboot your Envisalink from the "Network" page and then go back to this page after the reboot ( wait 10 seconds). On the Network page under DHCP settings you should see the new DNS server, 8.8.8.8, listed. You will also see that the Envisalerts server is now listed as 184.X.X.X and hopefully ONLINE.

You can keep Google as your DNS, or you can change back. The Envisalink will remember its server from now on.


Return to “Envisalink FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest